Marcos task force directs BFP to ensure fire safety of public hospitals
Mon | March 25, 2024

Download PDF File     Hide PDF

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr.’s task force on El Niño response has directed the Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) to inspect and ensure the fire safety of all public hospitals and public health facilities.

During the presidential task force's fourth meeting, Chairperson and Defense Secretary Gilberto C. Teodoro Jr., said that the BFP “must ensure a safe environment for everyone, especially of those seeking healthcare services and of the medical, healthcare service, and related professionals and workers.”

“Together, we must reduce the overall risk of fire-related incidents, accidents, and emergencies, most especially in all public hospitals and public health facilities,” Secretary Teodoro emphasized.

Police Captain Umar Aduca, who represented the BFP during the Task Force El Niño meeting, said they would immediately convey Secretary Teodoro's guidance to Secretary of Interior and Local Government Benhur C. Abalos.

“Fire safety is of paramount importance in order to preserve lives and protect properties,” Aduca said.

“We must protect individuals from harm and ensure their well-being. We must decrease the risk of property loss, destruction, and financial losses. We must reinvigorate the promotion of public safety,” the BFP official stated.

Under President Marcos’ Executive Order No. 53, which directs the government to streamline, reactivate, and reconstitute the old El Niño task forces under EO No. 16 (s. 2001) and Memorandum Order No. 38 (s. 2019), Teodoro was appointed chairperson of the task force, with Science and Technology Secretary Renato U. Solidum designated as co-chairperson.

Signed on January 19, 2024, President Marcos’ executive order directs the task force to develop a comprehensive disaster preparedness and rehabilitation plan for El Niño and La Niña to provide “systematic, holistic, and results-driven interventions” to help the public cope and minimize their devastating effects.

The President also designated the following officials as task force members: Secretary of Environment and Natural Resources Maria Antonia Yulo Loyzaga, Secretary of Agriculture Francis Tiu Laurel Jr., Secretary of Health Teodoro J. Herbosa, and Secretary of National Economic and Development Authority Arsenio M. Balisacan.